Skip to main content


Part Chimp



Part Chimp is an English rock band from Camberwell, London, England, that were formed by Tim Cedar, Jon Hamilton and Nick Prior in 2000. Current line-up is Tim (vocals & guitar), Jon (drums), Joe McLaughlin (bass) and Iain Hinchliffe (guitar).

They play rock music with elements of noise. Both on record and live, Part Chimp have a reputation for sounding extremely loud. Their records are released in the UK by Rock Action Records, in Europe & Japan by Play It Again Sam and in the US by Monitor records.

Tim Cedar and Jon Hamilton had previous played together in Ligament. Nick Prior (bass), formerly of Scarfo, joined Ligament for their last tour. When Ligament split, the threesome played one show as Part Chimp in late 2000, before adding Iain Hinchliffe on guitar. Nick Prior left the band in February 2004 and was replaced by Joe McLaughlin. The latter left in mid 2006, returning in 2010 to play some live shows. In 2008, Tracy Bellaries (ex-Ikara Colt) joined on bass, playing on the Thriller record before leaving in early 2010.

After splitting amicably at the end of 2011, Part Chimp have subsequently reformed, have recorded new material and played a handful of shows in 2016.

Cedar and Hamilton also play live and record as Die Munch Machine.